This page is dedicated to recognizing special gifts, endowments and

                                     CHARLES S. GOTSCH ENDOWMENT GIFT

A generous gift to the New Rochelle Campership Fund continues the spirit of community service which has been a
hallmark of Charles S. Gotschs's life. Following WWII he was appointed to the New Rochelle Auxiliary Fire Dept.,
attaining the rank of Captain. He also served as an active participant in many other civic organizations and affairs.
These included Chairman of the New Rochelle Civil Service Commission; the Salvation Army, where he was
recognized as Man Of The Year in 1996; the New Rochelle Lions Club (64 years) and a founder of the New
Rochelle Campership Fund. This gift is given In Memory of Robert DeLigter and Vendela DeMarco.


Permanent Memorial Scholarships can be established with a donation of $2500 or more to honor individuals for their
achievements or service, or to memorialize loved ones.

The Marylynn Pierce Memorial Scholarship
Established in 1988 in honor of Marylynn Pierce, a founding member and Director of the New Rochelle Campership

The Robert DeLigter Memorial Scholarship
Established in 1991 by the New Rochelle Lions Club in honor of his 35-year membership in the Club and service as a
Past-President. His community service also included many years on the Campership Executive Board.

The Helen Levinthal Lyons Memorial Scholarship
Established in 1991 by her husband Lester Lyons. She was a noted religious teacher, and was nationally recognized as
a worker for Jewish and Zionist causes. She was the first woman to graduate from a recognized Jewish theological

The Herman Lopata Memorial Scholarship
Established in 1992 by Frances Lopata in memory of her husband. Herman Lopata was President and CEO of
Automatic Toll Systems, the world's leading supplier of automatic toll-collection equipment.

The Vendela DeMarco Memorial Scholarship
Established in 1999 by her husband Lenny, the New Rochelle Lions Club, relatives and friends in honor of her years
of service to the Campership program and other community services.

The Pauline Flippin Memorial Scholarship
Established in 2002 in honor of more than 50 years of Community Service. She was a leader in the desegregation of
New Rochelle Schools and a long time member of the Campership Board.

The Nellie H. Friedrichs Memorial Scholarship
Established in 2003 in loving memory by her children and grandchildren in honor of her long years of dedication to the
New Rochelle Campership Fund, the cause closest to her heart.

The Ted Stewart Memorial Scholarship
Established in 2013 by his many friends to recognize Ted's 40 years of service to the Campership fund as it's
Treasurer. There was no one more committed or who served with greater selfless devotion.

Return to HOME PAGE
P.O. BOX 255, NEW ROCHELLE, NY 10804
Helping Our